NANONUT; Figure-Photos, DIY

The Cabinet PT # 02

_DSC2136
Previously in Part 1…

Making those Lock holders in Part 1 made my table look like this.
_DSC2131

Gotta spray the cabinet to a nicer Grey color rather than ugly brown!

_DSC2112

Got these 2 cans to do the job.

_DSC2114

After spraying.

_DSC2128

Ammo Crates

Whats a weapons holding case without Ammo?

_DSC2140

Cut them out of left over packing material which i kept.

_DSC2132

Also made Labels for the crates.
ZMMA

Printed.

_DSC2142

_DSC2143

Cut

_DSC2145

Spray the packing materials black.

_DSC2156

Glue + Stick

_DSC2158

Done.

_DSC2148

_DSC2149

When left in the cupboard.

The Ammo Crate

Weapons Hooks
_DSC2159

Twist and hook.

_DSC2160

Done!
_DSC2165

13 responses

  1. Can you build one for me? ^^

    January 15, 2012 at 1:10 am

    • Sure! Just get me the wire Mesh and the Box~

      January 15, 2012 at 1:03 pm

  2. Just bookmarked this cool blog~

    I was sourcing for a suitable display cabinet for my (very fast!) growing number of figma, and happened to stumble upon your blog. I only began collecting figma last AFA, and now I have 17 of them, with a couple more on pre-orders. Huge money-sink for me , but it is addictive haha.

    I may have to custom assemble my own display shelf specifically for figma, just like how you build some of your stuff on your own. ^^

    January 15, 2012 at 3:30 pm

    • Thanks for the Bookmark!

      My figma collection was growing to no end a year ago too. Kinda stopped for now, and only buy if i need to add a new Mecha Musume to my collection~

      What kind of display shelf would you be doing up? This is only a Weapon’s cabinet~

      January 15, 2012 at 3:40 pm

  3. I did not expect a fast reply, XD.

    I am also slowing down on my purchase now, but only because I got no where to place my figma, and I have spent over S$1000 just on them in a short period of 2 months T_T.
    Also, I have read your previous figma/nendoroid-related blog posts, and unlike you, I still don’t have the courage to throw away my boxes, and those take up a lot of space as well.

    The display shelf I am referring to are those typical glass cabinets which you can place figurines within and keep the dust/dirt out. Many recommended me the detolf shelf from IKEA, but I had a look at it myself, and concluded that the pre-installed glass racks were positioned too far apart from one another – not appropriate for the small stature of a figma. Too much space leftover, if you get what I mean.

    So how do you display your figures? Or do you normally just dismantle and pack them in the containers you got from Daiso?

    Anyway, I like your ingenious weapon rack, and might just do something similar. Well, or at least lean on the idea of making my own props to go with my future display shelf.

    January 15, 2012 at 4:07 pm

    • Detolfs are awesome, just get some Distages and you are good to go.

      This is how i display my figures, alittle in a Mess and Weird positions.

      Making a Display diorama would be awesome~ Looking forward to what you will be making next time!

      January 15, 2012 at 4:27 pm

  4. Awesome top display shelf in your room. The white lighting makes it look kind of surreal to me.

    I would like some Di:stages myself, but I prefer if I can obtain them locally, rather than order them via online means. Though I doubt any of the Singapore stores here have them available. Do you normally order your figures and merchandises online? And which online site?

    Many thanks for the prompt replies. Been real helpful~
    I will share some photos of my figma display when I get them all ready; diorama and all – hopefully in a near future. ^^

    January 15, 2012 at 4:38 pm

    • Those are LEDs, the picture’s a little overexposed though.

      I believe Black-Tactical and ToynToys still have some Avaliable, you can give them a call.

      I usually order my stuff from AmiAmi (I consolidate shipping costs with a number of my friends), unless its a scaled figure and the box is expected to be big – I’d go to ToynToys, cheapest in town but longest waiting time.

      No probs, have time until i go back to National Service tomorrow.

      January 15, 2012 at 4:47 pm

  5. Gah. I just went to ToynToys on Friday; I must have missed it. Or I was just too fascinated with the Freeing vehicles they have for figma. xp

    I will give Black-Tech a shot though. The one at Funan IT mall, right? I always had an impression it was entirely a weapon-hobby shop in and out.

    AmiAmi is the one that my friends recommend me too. Too bad even them don’t have stock for the older released figma. For instance, I am still short of 2 girls from K-On (Mugi and Mio) to complete my own Houkago Tea Time set. Sucks for me to enter the figma scene so late.

    I hope you have gotten a posting to a good unit. And congrats on your recent POP!

    January 15, 2012 at 5:07 pm

    • Its good if you give Black-Tech a call rather than going down, if i recall correctly, their figurine wing is at Bedok.

      Mugi and Mio, you might wana try SGCafe Forums. Alot of people are selling stuff there.

      I’m in Airforce Apparently, any good Lepak life there?

      January 15, 2012 at 5:16 pm

  6. Ah, the figurine branch of Black-Tech is known as Kurocha, and has shifted from Bedok to Eastpoint Simei. I was there 2 weeks ago, and (regrettably) bought a BRS2035 figma from there at a somewhat steep price of S$67.90. Later did I found out that other places offered significantly better pricing for it. Oh well.

    But looks like Kurocha does have di:stages in stock: http://kurocha.com/store/figurines-max-factory-c-8_13/figma-di-stage-extension-parts-p-214

    I will have to take a look at SGCafe later tonight. Thanks for the tip again!

    Airforce eh? I am (or was) from the Army; artillery unit to be exact. So unfortunately, I don’t have any good lepak pointers. =P
    But from what my pals shared with me, Airforce staffs tend to have better welfare and less harsher life than their land counterparts. Well, no idea how true that is, but nevertheless I think it is just a good thing that you are in Airforce anyway. Be sure to share your experience on the blog for us readers to know how it is like there, haha!

    January 15, 2012 at 6:05 pm

    • I’d try not to talk about my NS on the internet. Might just get “Something” irl.

      January 15, 2012 at 6:06 pm

  7. Oh yea, I get what you meant by that “something”. =X

    January 15, 2012 at 6:15 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 599 other followers